Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Yes. If you did not submit your form to the assessor in time to have the exemption added to your property record, you may request the July or December Board of Review add the exemption. They have the authority to add the current year and up to three prior years.
Assessed Value (AV) is 50% of the True Cash Value (TCV) for the property as it existed on December 31. Assessment notices are mailed out to the taxpayers in February informing them of what the values will be for the year.
Property assessments are appealed to the March Board of Review. This is held every year by law beginning on the second Monday in March. Caledonia Township generally has two days of hearings. You may appeal in person or by letter. If you wish to appeal in person, you must call for an appointment.
The March Board of Review has the ability to correct assessments, change property classification and grant poverty and veteran exemptions. If a residential property is not appealed to the March Board of Review, the assessment is final until the following year.
The law defines the True Cash Value as the usual selling price of a property. The Legislature and the Courts have very clearly stated that the actual selling price is not a controlling factor in the True Cash Value or State Equalized Value as calculated by the assessor. For this reason, when analyzing sales for determining assessment changes, the assessor will review all sales, but excludes non-representative sales from the assessment analysis.
A land division application must be completely filled out and returned along with the appropriate funds and an approved survey of how you are proposing to divide the land. any questions regarding minimum township requirements should be directed to the Zoning Administrator. The number of splits allowed per the State Land Division Act would be determined by the Assessor. Upon review of the completed application, a written response of approval or disapproval will be mailed to the property owner within 30 days of receipt of the application. If approved, the property owner has 60 days to record the new legal descriptions at the Kent County Register of Deeds office.
The 2015 Michigan Building Code (for all non-residential and non-agricultural structures) and the 2015 Michigan Residential Code (for all one and two family homes and their accessory) require a permit when one intends to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish, or change the occupancy of a building or structure, or to erect, install. alter, repair, remove, convert or replace any electrical, gas, mechanical, or plumbing system, the installation of which is regulated by this code, or to cause any such work to be done, shall first make an application to the building official and obtain the required permit. Section 105.1 lists a long description of the repairs that do not require a permit.
Our inspectors currently reference that Michigan State codes listed below:
2017 National Electrical Code
2015 MI Mechanical Code
2018 MI Plumbing Code
2015 International Fuel Gas Code
2015 MI Rehabilitation Code
Application for a permit can be submitted by the owner or lessee of a building or agent of either or by the registered design professional employed in connection with the proposed work.
See our Building Permit Checklist.
See our Occupancy Requirements.
You must submit a completed absentee application to the Clerk’s office. You may mail, email, or hand-deliver it to the Township Office. If you choose to apply for your absentee ballot in person, you must have your photo identification with you. If you submit your application by mail or email, your absentee ballot will be mailed to you. Learn more about absentee voting.
No. Michigan Election Law states that un-voted Absentee Ballots may only be issued to the voter either in person or by mail. Ballots may not be given to a spouse or any other person on behalf of the voter.
Your absentee ballot must be received in the Clerk’s office by the close of polls (8 pm) on election day in order to be processed.
Fees are based on residency. If you are a Caledonia Township, resident plot fees are $200 per plot. For non-residents, the fee is $500 per plot.
If you are interested in becoming a POC firefighter for Caledonia Township you must be at least 18 years of age. You must submit a completed application (PDF) to the fire department either by mail or in person.
Contact the Fire Department administration office at 616-891-0070 or email to schedule the appearance of one of the apparatus at your event.
Yes. You are welcome to stop by the fire station during staffed hours and request your blood pressure be taken by one of the on-duty firefighters. The fire station is located at;8192 Broadmoor Avenue SE.
No, we do not fill swimming pools. However, if you live in an area where there are fire hydrants near your home you can apply for a hydrant permit through the Township Utilities Department.
If you have an issue with a fire hydrant in Caledonia Township, please contact the Township Utilities Department.
Yes, by appointment only. The Caledonia Township Fire Department currently has one Certified Car Seat Technician. Please email Captain Kyle Fennell or call 616-891-0140, ext. 223 to schedule an appointment.
Kent County has a SafeChem program and also has 2 locations they recommend.
Burn permits can be obtained by filling out the application form. If there is a burn ban we will deactivate the form.
You may be granted a copy of an incident report under the Freedom of Information Act. Please email your request to Stephanie Skidmore, FOIA Coordinator. Access the FOIA Request Form (PDF).
The National Fire Prevention Agency (NFPA) recommends that smoke alarms be placed inside and outside each bedroom and sleeping area, on every level of the home, in the basement, on the ceiling or high on a wall, and away from the kitchen to reduce false alarms (at least ten feet away from the stove).
The National Fire Prevention Agency (NFPA) recommends that Carbon Monoxide (CO) alarms be placed outside each sleeping area and on every level of the home.
You need a building permit for all construction that involves the construction, repair, movement to another site, removal, or demolition of any building or structure. All electrical, plumbing and mechanical work needs a separate permit for each trade. The price of the permit is calculated using the cost of the construction.
View our Permits, Applications and Procedures Page
Work on a project may not legally begin before a permit is obtained and on the work site.
Water heater applications are processed at the counter.
Summer taxes are billed the first week of July and are due September 14.
Winter taxes are billed the first week of December and are due February 14th.
Tax payments received after the due date will be subject to additional fees and interest as prescribed by law. If your payment is late, please contact the Treasurer’s Office for the amount due.
If your mortgage company is listed on your tax bill, we have already sent a copy of the bill to them. However, it is still your responsibility to make sure they pay your taxes from your escrow account.
A Principal Residence Exemption Affidavit must have been filed with the Township in order to be eligible for the Homestead Exemption. If the line titled "Cal School Oper" on your tax bill says "exempt" then you are receiving the Homestead Exemption.
Village Taxes are included as a line item on the Township Summer Tax Bill.
Yes, depending on the residential zoning district you live in:
a) Agricultural and Rural Residential District - recreational vehicles have no restrictions.
b) R-1, R-2, & R-3 Residential Districts - recreational vehicles can not be located within any setback of these districts. Please contact the Zoning Administrator if you need verification on what the setbacks are in your district.
Yes, you do need a permit which does have a one-time application fee. Learn more about home based business permits.
Home Based Business / Home Occupation Page
Initially, it depends on the zoning district that a person lives in. Zoning districts area are as follows:
a) Agricultural and Rural Residential - you may have up to 1200 square feet for the first 2 full acres, additional acreage can allow for more square footage.
b) R-1 - the maximum allowed is 792 square feet
c) R_2 - the maximum allowed is 594 square feet
d) R-3 - the maximum allowed is 396 square feet
A resident is limited to having three dogs, and they must be licensed through the Kent County Animal Shelter.